Blackouts, Naps, and Sunday

by CrispyPhoenix

Hi Sunday!

I’m writing to you live from my dust covered desk wearing my house jeans and dirty hair. It took forever to get out of bed this morning. I kept laying there thinking about getting up and then saying no. It was so deliciously cold and cloudy and I don’t have a single obligation today.

Well, except for deciding what I will now carry to work for lunch. See, that didn’t happen last night like I said yesterday. I didn’t even watch White Collar, which I’m only watching because I’m thinking of writing a spec. It didn’t happen because we had a blackout. Which JUST HAPPENED AGAIN.

I am so not kidding. Literally, as I typed the word “blackout,” the power shut off. But only for a moment.

Unlike the two hours it was out last night. My god. The way I just said that you’d think I just lived through the Second Coming of Katrina.

My entire neighborhood was plunged into darkness for no one knows why at around 6:30; exactly when it’s now getting dark and I’m getting hungry. Oh, AND I had just put my sheets in the washer. Awesome.

I heard a boom and everything went silent and that’s when I realized how entirely unprepared for a California catastrophe I am so, I did what any self-serving first-world-country-dwelling person does; I blew out my air freshening candles and left in search of inexpensive, painless dinner and free wifi.

Before I left, I walked down the street to see if anyone else knew what was going on. I met a couple of beer swilling dads with their screaming three-year-old daughters and their infant-bouncing irritated-looking wives. Actually, I only met the one dad as in we exchanged names. He was on hold with the DWP.

The other dad was sucking on his longneck bottle so hard it’d make a thwop! sound when he’d pull it from his lips. He just looked at me glassy-eyed and said things like “Yep” and “Know it, man.” Even weirder? I wasn’t talking. The two wives, who I’m willing to bet are sisters, gave me nary a glance and kept their eyes peeled on the men. That’s because sober dad on the phone was hot and friendly. And, I was picking up some wandering energy from Sir Sucks-A-Lot. Ick.

Not sure where to go and a little irritated myself at the delicate nature of the power grids in Los Angeles, I made my way to a little sandwich joint over by the Grove. Holy beezus.. did you hear me just now? That sounded so much like my grandmother… a little sandwich shop. Everything’s little with grandmothers. Even grandmothers are little. Does anyone have a big grandma?

wpid-1382839883944.jpg

My view while eating a chicken sandwich… in case you were wondering what I look at while eating chicken sandwiches

Okay, so this post is already too long, but I need to say that also, I’m a little pissed right now because I laid in bed until noon unable to sleep after waking at 7 and guess what? I’m sleepy. It’s my only day off!!!! I cannot be sleepy!!!

Damn. I see a nap in my near future. Please enjoy this quiz.

Quiz:

I was invited to a ginormous Halloween party in Hollywood last night but didn’t go because:

A) What to wear?

B) I wanted to watch a show that I’m not really that into?

C) Saturday night is my only night to relax

D) Blackout

E) I was afraid I would become overwhelmingly sleepy upon arrival

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter